Tech geek

Welcome to today’s Ask a Tech Geek. We will continue to follow up on our Facebook and Social Media questions.

Today’s Question:

How do I adjusting my Facebook newsfeed so I see more of my close family and friends and less of those I consider acquaintances?

Last week, we talked about how the copy and paste post to help you  see more of your friend’s post is a hoax.  However there is away to see more of those you like to see and less of those you do not.

Many do not know this but you do have control over your newsfeed and tailor it to your preference.  

  • In the top right hand of your Facebook notification bar you will see a down arrow. Click on it
  • Click on News Feed Preference Here you will see a popup menu with several choices. (Smart phones and some tablets you will have scroll down to and click on settings and then scroll to News Feed Preference)

 

facebook choices newsfeed

 

Prioritize who to see first

With this choice you can pick whose post you like to see first. Click on this option and you will see all the people you have on your friends list as well as all the groups and pages you have joined or follow.

Just click on the ones you like to show up in your newsfeed first and a star will appear by their name. Click “Done” when you are finished and Viola you now will see their post first in your newsfeed. 

If you later decide you no longer like to see certain post first just follow the above instructions and click to remove the star by their name.

 **HINT: If your lists and want to narrow the field click on the button above the list that says “ALL” with two arrows. This will allow you to narrow your field to Friends, Pages, Groups Etc.

 

Unfollow people and groups to hide their posts

Sometimes, you do not like what someone has been posting but you really do not want to hurt their feelings by  unfriend them or quit a group/page. Well Facebook give you the option to unfollow them. When you accept a friends request, join a group or like a page you are automatically defaulted to follow them, by clicking on this option you will see a list which those that are not in your see first list.  Click on the ones you like to , instead of a star on their name you will see a blue frame around their profile picture and “Unfollowed” underneath it.

They will never know if you have stop following their post.  When you are finished click “Done”

**HINT: If your lists and want to narrow the field click on the button above the list that says “ALL” with two arrows. This will allow you to narrow your field to Friends, Pages, Groups Etc.

 

Reconnect with people and groups you unfollowed

If you have accidentally unfollowed someone or regret unfollowing someone, it is here you can Reconnect. By clicking on this option you will get a list of all the people, groups or pages you have unfollowed . This time when you click on the ones you like to reconnect, you will get a red frame around their profile picture and it will say “Following” underneath.  They will never know that you had unfollowed and reconnected with them.  When you are finished click “Done”

**HINT: If your lists and want to narrow the field click on the button above the list that says “ALL” with two arrows. This will allow you to narrow your field to Friends, Pages, Groups Etc.

 

Manage your snooze setting

First you should be made aware that you can snooze post from people for up to 30 days. When you see a post from a person if you click on the three dots “…” beside their name you will receive a drop down menu which gives you a choice to snooze their posts.  So this next option gives you the opportunity to manage those you have already snoozed. It allows you a quicker way to snooze those you have previously snoozed.

 

If you have unfollowed someone then this option is really redundant but if you just want a quick time out then snoozing them can help you manage them.

**HINT: If your lists and want to narrow the field click on the button above the list that says “ALL” with two arrows. This will allow you to narrow your field to Friends, Pages, Groups Etc.

 

See more options

This feature allows you to manage apps that you have hidden from your newsfeed or other areas that are not covered under the first three Preferences settings.

Now your newsfeed is organized to your personal preference as to who you like to see first as well as  friends, groups and pages you prefer not to see posts from.  Take control of your newsfeed today. 

 

Thanks to our website visitor for asking this question. Next week we will answer the question on how to make sure your account does not become compromised.

If you have a question you would like to have answered. Here are three ways you can.

  1. Leave a comment on this post,
  2. Use our  Send a Messagepage
  3. Email our Geek at techgeek@wallaceburgadultactivitycentre.ca

Till next time stay safe, stay healthy and most of all stay positive.

Your Resident Geek.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.